The Scoop: Be a Solution Finder

When any fit of gloominess, or perversion of mind, lays hold upon you, make it a rule not to publish it by complaints. – Samuel Johnson

Chances are that we have complained today. As a matter of fact, I know that I have. And if some of us haven’t, the UK game is underway so I am sure it is only a matter of time.

I woke up sometime around 6:00am so that I could help my parents empty a fridge that no longer worked so the new one could be delivered. It wasn’t ideal, and certainly not something I wanted to do early in the morning. And I probably even grumbled about it somewhere along the way.

Something I’ve thought about quite a bit lately is why do I complain? I am not talking about being upset with something and voicing a concern. But the day-to-day mindless complaining where we offer no solutions and just complain to complain.

Complaining brings us down, it brings everyone else down. No one enjoys a complainer. No one likes to be around a complainer.

As the morning turned out, my family was quite appreciative of my assistance, and if that was the worst thing that I had to do all day (which it was), then I actually had a pretty good day (which I did).

Here’s an idea. The next time you have something to complain about, ask yourself whether there is a solution for the issue or if you are complaining just because.

Become the person who is a part of finding the solution, rather than the person who is constantly identifying all of the problems.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

One thought on “The Scoop: Be a Solution Finder

  1. Pingback: Don’t find fault, find a remedy. | philosiblog

Leave a comment