What Do You Value?

“You give attention to that which you value the most.” – Amy Larson

Recently, I was having a conversation with someone about reading. I had a stack of books that I had not gotten to yet. I had been wanting to read them for some time and knew that they have a lot of valuable information in them. The problem arose that every time I would try to carve out time in my day to read them, I always thought, “I don’t have enough time to read them.”

I always felt that I was too busy. Work was at a hectic point, and other things seemed to pop up to occupy my time. There were just not enough hours in the day.

However, a few weekends ago, I decided to take some time to start reading the latest John Grisham book. As I started in on it, I just kept going and going. I started it on a Saturday and finished on a Sunday.

As it turns out, I did not miss anything by reading. I was no further behind in my work. I was able to take care of everything that still inevitably came up.

So what changed?

Well, the truth of the matter is that I simply made time.

I realized that I valued the time I took to read, so I made time to do it. Since then, I have made it a point to make time in my day to read a little bit. While I may not be sitting down to read an entire book in a few days, I have chosen to make time to read a little every day because it is important to me. As it turns out, I am not THAT busy.

Imagine if we all did this. I am not talking about reading books (though I feel this is an important part of our growth), but simply making time to do the things that we value. Instead, we choose to think of all the reasons that we cannot do something. We find all the reasons that we are too busy. We simply make excuses.

However, we tend to find all of the time in the world to post a status update on Facebook or Twitter (sometimes about how we never have time to do anything). We will spend hours in our week doing things that simply waste time or do nothing for us.

What if we expended that energy on the things we value and want to do? What if we stopped thinking we were so busy and just made the time? Five, ten, twenty, or thirty minutes a day. It would not take much, but over the course of the week it all adds up. We make time for what we value!

Aaron and I spoke a few weeks ago about how we just did not have time to write posts. We wanted to get things started back up, but we were just SO busy. As we discussed what we would need to do, it stuck in my head that the number one reason we were not posting anything was because we simply were not making the time for it. We did not value it enough at the time. We were choosing to value other things (which may or may not be important). If we were to be committed to doing what we said we would do, we had to value it, which would result in us committing some of our time to it.

Today, I challenge you to give value to those things you continually say you are too busy for. Perhaps there is a project around the house you have wanted to do for a long time. Perhaps you simply want to read a book for pleasure. Perhaps there is a friend you want to meet for dinner and catch up with.

If you really want to do it, you WILL make the time. And you likely won’t miss out on anything in the process.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

