Daily Short-hOPT: Attitude + Effort = Happiness

“Develop an attitude of gratitude, and give thanks for everything that happens to you, knowing that every step forward is a step toward achieving something bigger and better than your current situation.” – Brian Tracy

With the long weekend over and the general back-to-work feeling of the day, it is rather easy to allow today to suck. I’ll be honest: it took a serious amount of effort to get out of bed this morning. It took even more effort to make the walk from car to office. However, I am here, so I might as well make the best of it. All it will take is the right attitude and a little effort.

As I’ve done multiple times on Mondays, I am writing out my list of Why Today Is Awesome. For me, it’s a simple way of kick starting my crappy attitude and turning it into a more positive outlook. Trust me, I need it. As of this exact moment, I’d much rather be at home with my family than chained to the cubicle. While it would be easy to slide into that mindset and let this work day drag on helplessly, I am going to make the effort to keep my attitude positive. So, here we go:

1.) I’m alive. I’m in good health. My family is as well. (This will always be on my list.)
2.) I have an amazing family. My wife and son are my favorite people in the world.
3.) We’re taking a family trip this weekend to Jellystone Park by Mammoth Cave, KY. I can’t wait.
4.) I spent some really good time with our families this weekend and had a blast.
5.) This blog. Aside from providing me a creative outlet to do something I love doing, the positive feedback we receive from it is always astounding. Thank you.
6.) Bacon. Heart attack be damned. Bacon rulz.
7.) We got a shout-out from Deb Chitwood (@PositivityBits) this morning. Check it out: paper.li/PositivityBits/1375618668#!all

The fact of the matter is that our circumstances are not necessarily dictated by outside sources, but rather how we view them. In plain English, if we think it’s going to suck, it’s probably going to suck. If we put forth the effort to stay positive and view things from a more mentally healthy perspective, the potential for happiness is exponentially higher. It just takes a little effort and the right attitude.

I urge you to make a list of your own. Either go old school and put pen to paper, or type something up on your computer and keep it handy. Check it often. Remember the things that make you happy and keep you going.

What’s on your list?

Have an awesome Monday,
-A.

20140707-094100-34860432.jpg

Enjoy this post? Radical. Share it. Like it. Retweet it. Follow us on twitter – @short_hOPT. Check out older posts on the blog – shorthoptimism.wordpress.com. Have a gnarly day.

Leave a Reply

