Daily Short-hOPT: Infuse Your Life With Action

“Infuse your life with action. Don’t wait for it to happen. Make it happen. Make your own future.” – Bradley Whitford

I’ve been sitting here for almost an hour trying to come up with a topic for my next shorthoptimism blog post. I’ve started and deleted at least three attempts. As of this exact word, I still have no idea where I’m going with this. Wait…I think it’s this (with apologies to Nike): just do it. 

You want to be good at something? You have to do it. 

You want to chase a dream? You can’t chase it sitting down. Do it. 

You want to pump out a hopefully quality and inspiring blog post? (No? Just me? Cool.) Do it. Start pounding out some words and do it. 

I’m a dreamer by nature. (I daydream about winning the lottery, yet I buy maybe 1 lottery ticket per year.) What I need to better about is doing instead of dreaming. Hell, doesn’t that statement encompass most of us? I have a litany of things I’d like to do before I kick that proverbial bucket. To name a few:

Coach and/or write for a living. 
Own a baseball field. 
Teach. 

I started this post without knowing what it is I wanted to say, which lead me to exactly what I needed to say. I reached that solution by doing it. Obviously a much simpler task than owning a ball field, I know. But isn’t it the same principle? We can’t get the things we want without making the effort to get them. We can’t make the effort without deciding to do it. 

So, here’s to figuring out what we want, getting off our collective asses, and making it happen. You just gotta do it. 

Have an awesome Wednesday,
-A. 

20140617-211443-76483350.jpg

One thought on “Daily Short-hOPT: Infuse Your Life With Action

  1. Pingback: Daily Short-hOPT: What Is All This Crap? (Part II) | short-hOPTIMISM

Leave a Reply

