Daily Short-hOPT: I Blew It (One Day Challenge Revisited)

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.” – J.K. Rowling

On Wednesday, I offered up (and also accepted) a challenge to not say anything crappy about anyone for 24 hours. I have to be honest: I blew it. Throughout my day at work, I said nothing negative about anyone. However, around 5:30 that day, I slipped up, and my wife called me on it. 

I have a couple observations about the experience. First, I don’t know if I’m just a turd or what, but there were a few times where I had to remind myself to keep my words to myself. Without pinning any blame elsewhere, I found that being around others makes it somehow easier to talk smack. Not sure why. Second, it was harder than I thought. Again, maybe I’m a turd, but I made a conscious effort to say either positive things or nothing, and that took legitimate effort. And, when I blew it, my comment came rolling right off my tongue with ease. It took far less effort than being pleasant. 

Here’s my analysis: positivity can be tough because not everyone is positive. It would be nice to have that strength in numbers, but it certainly works both ways. I seem to hear way more trash talking in groups. The reality is that it takes genuine courage to be a positive force, but that courage is just as contagious as spreading negativity. Give it a shot. 

I felt awful when I realized I only made it roughly 12 hours without saying something negative about another person. I met my goal halfway. I was severely disappointed with my effort. However, all that did was give me an opportunity to learn and get better for my next challenge. I felt it necessary to reveal how I did being that I was the one to throw down that gauntlet. 

So, if you accepted he challenge and failed like me, I sincerely hope you’ll try again. I plan to. If you succeeded, I offer a new challenge. 48 hours. Followed by 72. Followed by…well, you get the point. Consider it an ongoing challenge. 

Have an awesome Friday,
-A. 

20140612-223253-81173106.jpg

Leave a Reply

