Daily Short-hOPT: One Day Challenge

You know what I’m horrible about? Talking smack. Not the fun little jabby kind you do amongst friends, but like, “hey, look at that guy, he looks stupid” kind of stuff. The judgmental, petty stuff. It’s sincerely something that I have to work on all the time. I dislike that I do it, and I would hate to think that someone was making disparaging remarks about me.

So, today I offer a challenge:

Go this entire day without saying something crappy about someone else. One day. 24 hours.

You don’t have to say something nice to someone, although that would be a nice touch. Just don’t say anything mean about someone else either to them or behind their backs.

Seems pretty easy, right? Yeah, well, as ridiculous to say, it’s a hell of a lot harder than it seems. Seriously. We do it without thinking. We get in our little circles and make fun of strangers. We look at clothes and mannerisms and we pick-pick-pick them to death.

For example, I encounter people every day that I am not particularly fond of for one reason or another. Almost daily, I either say or think something mean-spirited about one of these people. It’s not doing me any good, honestly. However, a little bit ago I made a rude remark to myself about how dumb a particular person is, and it struck me: I can’t remember the last day I’ve been at work and not said something negative about this person.

Go one day. Just one day. When you feel that unwarranted comment coming, bite your tongue..literally, if you have to. See if you can make it an entire day without making a negative comment about someone else.

That’s all I’m offering up today. A simple, one day challenge. Can you keep it to yourself? I’d be interested to see how many of you that read this make it. I’ll report my own progress back.

Keep me posted.

Have an awesome Wednesday,
-A.

20140610-214152-78112036.jpg

Did you enjoy this post? Sweet. Share it. Read some more stuff at shorthoptimism.wordpress.com and follow us on twitter: @short_hOPT.

One thought on “Daily Short-hOPT: One Day Challenge

  1. Pingback: Daily Short-hOPT: I Blew It (One Day Challenge Revisited) | short-hOPTIMISM

Leave a Reply

