Daily Short-hOPT: I’m A Grumpy Old Man

“If this country is ever demoralized, it will come from trying to live without work.” – Abraham Lincoln

If I teach my son nothing else in his life, I hope I am at least able to teach him the importance of personal responsibility and the value of working hard to earn the things that he wants. I’m starting to think this is a completely lost concept anymore.

I swear I’m becoming a grumpy old man, but I get so annoyed by the sense of entitlement that is currently plaguing us. We expect handouts instead of putting in the time and effort to earn something. When things don’t go our way, we complain and make excuses instead of working even harder to make them go our way. We point at others and wonder why they’re getting the benefits instead of looking in a mirror to discern how we can be in those shoes. I know why we do it, and that “why” sucks: It’s so much easier to expect things to be given to us. It’s simpler to find an excuse or point to outside factors beyond our control as the impetus for why we can’t succeed.

For the love of all things Holy, we have to STOP IT! Let’s get off our entitled butts and find a way to make things work for us. Let’s teach our kids that if they want nice things, they have to work for them. Let’s show them that people who do have nice things got them by busting their tails and not allowing ridiculous excuses present obstacles in their lives. We have to take some freakin’ responsibility for our own actions…or inactions.

Growing up, I had chores and responsibilities around the house. It drove me nuts to hear my buddies playing outside while I was inside cleaning my room, vacuuming, or taking out the garbage. I hated doing my chores, but when they were complete, I was free to go and do as I pleased. When I needed things, these chores and responsibilities paid for them. My son, in time, will also have his own little chore list, because I now know what lessons my parents were teaching me (even though I loathed learning it):

Nothing in this life is free.

No one owes you anything.

If you want something, earn it. It’s really that simple.

Have an awesome Wednesday,
-A.

20140514-210944.jpg

Leave a Reply

