Daily Short-hOPT: What Makes It Great

“It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great.”

Pursuant to Noah’s post the other night, I offer up my own set of reasons (excuses) for my recent blog absence. For those of you who know me personally, you know this time of year stretches me pretty thin. Family, 4 college classes, 40 hour work week, and high school baseball season makes it tough to keep up, much less form a coherent, hopefully inspiring thought. But, like I mentioned above, that’s just an excuse. For the things we want to accomplish, effort has to be put forth. I’ve learned a lot in the time I’ve been away from this blog, and I plan on sharing as much of that as possible.

The movie ‘A League of Their Own’ offers up more than its fair share of great lines, but one that has always stood out to me is this:

“It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great.”

A whole bunch of people a whole lot smarter than I’ll ever be have expressed this sentiment in ways far better than I could encapsulate, but the sentiment rings true nonetheless. Anything worth having is worth the struggle to attain it. Either I’m getting old or this mentality is being lost on people today. I’ve relayed before that I’m an instant gratification guy. Patience is something I struggle with daily. But I know for the challenges I have taken on, the end result is going to taste so sweet when I see them through.

I’ll be as blunt as possible here: I loathe school. I love learning, but I find schoolwork to be tedious. That’s mostly because I’m generally not interested in the subject matter. Sorry, economics and geology aren’t my cup of tea. However, I started a journey to graduate college in the summer of 1997, and I am set to complete that journey at the end of this year. I know, it’s not that impressive for those of you who did it the right way and knocked it out in the standard four. I get that. And, people graduate college all the time. I know that. But, this is a goal I’ve had for 17 years, and I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. And, I can assure you, when I walk across that stage and grab that piece of paper, it will all have been worth it…and I may weep like the tiniest of babies. The journey has been hard. Granted, I’ve made it more difficult than it needed to be at times. But it’s been tough, and has certainly made my already existing balancing act even that much more strenuous. But, when I finish this bad boy up, every bit of these last 17 years will make it all worthwhile.

Far too often I see people throw in the towel when things become difficult. Hell, it’s easier to go that route, isn’t it? And I’m not exempt here. If you would have told me in 1997 that I’d just be finishing up school, I’d have called you a liar. But, here I am. I threw in the towel on this particular goal on more than one occasion. So, my plea to you is this: if you want something, go get it. If it gets tough, see it through. If it looks impossible, know that you are capable of overcoming impossibility. Find a way rather than finding the most convenient excuse. Know that the reward for patience and perseverance trumps the emptiness of quitting.

And remember, it’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it.

Have an awesome Thursday,
-A.

20140424-204854.jpg

Leave a Reply

