The Scoop: Remembering the Process

“The good life is a process, not a state of being. It is a direction not a state of being.” – Carl Rogers

It’s relatively easy for me to spit out words on topics discussed in this blog. Things like positivity, motivation, optimism, process; I’ve had a lot to say about all of them over the last several months, and I believe in every last word I’ve written in this space. But, what happens when belief falters and it comes time to truly walk the walk? 

Case in point: my baseball team is coming off of two losses to teams that I believe we’re better than. We weren’t better than them on the days we played them, but I think we’re better than them top to bottom. It’s so much easier to espouse the virtues of positivity and process when things are going well. It makes sense because you can see it happening. When you’re in a funk, though, positivity seems stupid and the process doesn’t look like it’s working. It is at these times, though, that belief has to be reinforced and the walk has to start being walked. 

It goes without saying that things seem so much easier when everything is clicking on all cylinders. Success can cure a lot of evils, but obstacles and setbacks can create a negative atmosphere. It is at these times that true and intentional leadership come to the forefront. It is imperative that long term goals are clear and concise, that small things don’t become huge things, and that every person involved in a team setting has a basic belief that the end result will ultimately be beneficial.

In that vein, I know that part of my own process is believing in myself and every person around me. I have to maintain confidence in my abilities and instill confidence in those that I lead. I have to have patience with the process, and I have to teach patience in the process. In our situation, I see so much good and so much progress. I also see room for improvement. Because of these things, I know that the process is working, but is still a work in progress. I am confident that the road ahead will be filled with success, but will not be a smoothly paved one. 

Now, I just have to make them believe that. 

Have an awesome Monday,
-A. 

20140331-233113.jpg

Leave a Reply

