Daily Short-hOPT: Carly Rae Jepsen And Liking What You Like

“There is nothing more beautiful than seeing a person being themselves. Imagine going through your day being unapologetically you.” – Steve Maraboli

As I was listening to music at work today, Cary Rae Jepsen’s ‘Call Me Maybe‘ came across my shuffle. Say what you will, that’s just a catchy little ditty. As I am prone to do when a song gets stuck in my head, I was singing bits and pieces of the song as the day progressed. One of my coworkers made it clear how badly that song sucks, and more or less implied, jokingly, that I suck for liking it.

The reality is, I like what I like and I’m pretty unapologetic about it. If you did a shuffle on my iPod, you’d see music ranging from Bob Marley to Eminem to The Cure to Cheap Trick to Metallica to Kid Cudi to Winger. That’s right: Winger. (I really dig the song Seventeen, even though the song’s premise is entirely creepy.) As a child of the grunge era, I spent a lot of time being a snob about what “cool” music is and isn’t. (I also spent a lot of time wearing cardigans and ridiculously baggy pants. I did have sweet hair, though.) What I was missing then, and what I don’t want to miss anymore, is that closing myself off from certain types of music just made me more shallow. Worse, I tried to dictate to others what they should and shouldn’t listen to, which is silly. Why should I care what someone else enjoys? Doesn’t affect me in the least, does it? 

This isn’t restricted to just music. It goes for movies, books, sports teams; the list is pretty much endless. Like what you want to like and be unapologetic about it. Make no excuses for those supposed “guilty pleasures”. Read those trashy romance novels and tabloids. Blare Miley Cyrus’ ‘Party In The USA’ while driving with the windows down. Be unafraid and unashamed to like what you want to like regardless of cool factors. 

The point is that if we disallow ourselves from enjoying things because they’re not “cool” to enjoy, we’re missing out on new experiences and opportunities to become more well-rounded students of the world. 

You’re considering downloading some Winger right now, aren’t you?

Have an awesome Wednesday,
-A.

20140326-202557.jpg

Leave a Reply

