The Scoop: No Fear

“Never let fear determine who you are, and never let where you’ve been determine where you are going.” – Constantine D’Amato

In February 2006, I received an email from my college head coach. There was a school looking for a coach, and they asked him if he knew anyone interested. He recommended me for the position and emailed me to get my thoughts on it.

I emailed him back and told him that I would think about it, but I wanted to meet with him to talk about it and get his thoughts. I shared my reservations with him when we met. I am too close in age to the players, coaching will not be nearly the same as playing, how will I command their respect and trust were among the many I had.

The fact of the matter was that I was scared. I feared that after a successful playing career I would not be able to translate that into coaching. What if I did not know as much as I thought I did? What if I could not communicate it to the players? After Coach and others gave me some advice, I reluctantly decided to give it a go.

I remember showing up for that first practice. I stayed off to the side for most of it and observed. I did not say much and did not really do any coaching. At the end after practice was over, I received some really good advice that has stuck with me as I have made transitions from that job to others.

Just jump right in, you are here for a reason.

We spend a lot of time letting fear of messing up get in the way of doing something. We do not feel we are good enough or we will mess up so we hesitate to even begin. We do not like to appear incompetent so we refrain from taking risks.

We should work to not let that fear dictate who we are or who we believe we are. Had I listened to the negative voices and the fears in my mind, I would never have discovered the passion I have for helping others through coaching and mentoring. I would not have met some of the people in my life who have become some of the most valuable and special relationships in my life.

Nothing great was every achieved without taking a risk. We must go one step at a time, but the first step is an important one. By taking that step, we are pushing aside our fears and determining our own path.

We should stop letting our fears run our life. We should stop being afraid of failure and let that hold is back. We will fail, but that should not define us.

Our defining moments come when we realize that we are there for a reason. Then jump right in and start making a difference that will change your life and others.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

