Daily Short-hOPT: Our Impact

“When you love people and have the desire to make a profound, positive impact upon the world, then you will have accomplished the meaning to live.” – Sasha Azevedo

I was listening to an interview with B.J. Novak earlier today, and something he said struck me as enormously important and sincere. In discussing the movies and television shows he’s written for or acted in, he mentioned that he doesn’t want to be a part of anything that isn’t impactful. At this point in his career, Novak has written for and acted in The Office, acted in the Quentin Tarantino movie ‘Inglorious Basterds’, and was recently in the Disney movie ‘Saving Mr. Banks”. As far as film and television is concerned, I’d say his impact has been pretty significant.

Obviously, the people who make an impact in that fashion are few and far between. Only a handful of people are movie and TV stars, but we don’t have to be Hollywood personalities in order to make an impact. A lot of the time, it’s small things that we do for others that has the largest impact, and I think we lose sight of that regularly.

Of course, this works in reverse. The things we don’t do can have just as much of an impact. A few days ago at baseball practice, a young man caught me at an inopportune time. He wanted to ask me a question at a moment when I was very frustrated with a situation. I told him that it wasn’t a good time, and I continued walking. What’s the impact here? Hopefully, he is able to chalk it up to a bad encounter and it won’t stifle his desire to come to me when he needs something. Conversely, maybe I just burnt a bit of trust, and he won’t be so eager to come to me when something is truly pressing. This just demonstrates the impact of even the smallest of our actions.

We have to be conscious of the way we act and how that affects others. True, a good general rule is not allowing negative people to conquer your mindset. However, it’s unrealistic in the short term to not expect to be affected by how someone treats you. Bluntly, your mood and actions can have a sizeable impact on those around you, and it’s entirely unfair to project your negativity on others. The young man that came to me with a question didn’t deserve to be blown off by me. The cost of that poor transaction will have to be paid in hopes of reparation by me.

The idea should be to impact those around you positively, and express yourself better when your mood is less than upbeat. In all honestly, I’d love to be Mary Sunshine all day every day, but that’s not me. Sometimes it takes work. I have to remind myself to be mindful of how my potential negativity can rub off on others. If my goal is to lift people up and help them realize their potential, I can’t do that by being unavailable when things aren’t going my way.

That goes for all of us.

Have an awesome Monday,
-A.

20140317-213058.jpg

Leave a Reply

