Daily Short-hOPT: On The Importance Of Family

“Family is not an important thing. It’s everything.” – Michael J. Fox

My mom’s birthday is in two days. Tonight, we had a family gathering to celebrate this occasion. My brother was in town from school, and my sisters and their offspring were all in attendance. My family is kinda goofy. We’re very close, we’re all kind of loud and generally foul-mouthed, so when we get together, it’s fairly, well, loud, foul-mouthed, and fun. 

When I was growing up, especially in my teens, I had (and still have) a small group of really close friends. We hung out every day, and these guys were like extensions of my family. As we’ve gotten older (and quite a lot more boring), we’ve gotten married, had kids, and taken jobs that put food on the table and roofs over heads. That means that our time together isn’t nearly as frequent as it used to be. It’s unfortunate, but I think it’s a fairly normal part of the life cycle of most adults. 

What I have found is that the older I’ve gotten the more important my family has become. In my late teens and early twenties, I think I took this fact for granted. This isn’t to say that my friends wouldn’t be there for me when I needed them, but I can say with absolute certainty that my mom, dad, sisters and brothers would be by my side without a moment’s hesitation in any circumstance. 

Family should be forgiving to a fault. They should be non-judgmental. They should be steadfast in support regardless of the possibility of a negative outcome. Just as I would be there for my parents, sisters, or brother without question, I know they would be there for me. And that’s why I love them so. 

Loud and foul-mouthed or not, y’all my folk. 

Have an awesome Saturday,
-A. 

20140308-232852.jpg

Leave a Reply

