Daily Short-hOPT: Missing The Point

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

I am probably as guilty as anyone of allowing minutiae to bother me endlessly. Small, insignificant things have the ability to eat at me for hours or even days. This is something I try to work on, but I’m definitely not there yet. I doubt I’m alone. 

Recently, Noah passed on something to me that I use as a mantra when I’ve been stuck mentally mulling negativity: 

“Worry is a down payment on a problem you may never have.” – Joyce Meyer

What happens when you waste time worrying or thinking something to death? The entire world continues to revolve. Time doesn’t stop to allow you to figure it out. People don’t drop everything and put their lives on hold to accommodate your worry. Life goes on. The only thing remaining stagnant is you. 

We have been given one life. That’s one shot at doing things right. Any time spent not working toward or enjoying present happiness is wasted time. This life is too short and too damn good to not place emphasis on enjoying it. That means that those little worries, fears, and petty annoyances have to be put on the back burner. 

It is imperative that we attempt to internalize and exude positivity, and part of that process is surrounding ourselves with positivity. We can do this by weeding out the fun-suckers, the naysayers, and the complainers. We can further make this happen by flat out removing ourselves from negative situations or by finding the positive perspective in any situation. It’s worth the effort. 

Let’s not miss the point of what it is that we were intended to do: live happy, full lives filled with people and things that make us happy. If you’re on the opposite end of that spectrum, it’s time to think about making some changes. 

Again, it’s worth the effort. 

Have an awesome Thursday,
-A. 

20140220-205908.jpg

Leave a Reply

