The Scoop: To Tell The Truth

“The greatest advantage of speaking the truth is that you don’t have to remember what you said.” – Anonymous

Do you remember when you were a little kid and you hated to get in trouble? You knew what trouble meant. It meant sitting in timeout. It meant not getting seconds of dinner. It meant no ice cream. It meant no video games. It meant no candy bar when you went to the store. In essence, it meant a whole host of consequences.

I vividly recall a time as a kid where I was not where I was supposed to be nor where I said I was going. My parents already knew, but they gave me a chance to tell the the truth. I did not, but my parents decided to question me further. Eventually, I got my stories crossed and had to come clean.

I am sure that we have all tried to do this at one point or another. We do something that we likely should not have done. We then decide to create a story to cover out tracks if ever asked. We gather up everyone there to get on our side and make sure they that the story straight. Except, inevitably, someone mixes something up. The story begins to get muddied up. Someone forget a minor fact, and the entire operation becomes exposed.

I often marvel at some of the people who create these fictional tales to cover themselves. If you had put that much effort into thinking about whether you should have done it or perhaps just even asked first, you may not find yourself in such a predicament.

The truth is not always the desired path. It may result in consequences. It may result in some trouble. It may result in hurting or disappointing someone. But, it is the easiest. There are no stories to remember, no tales to orchestrate, no lies to choreograph.

We often find that the consequences are worse when we try to cover up the misdeed. Being honest and open about the situation is a sign of maturity and accountability. It is a chance to learn from our mistakes, an opportunity for growth and to be better. We may take a minor hit because of what we did, yet we gain a wealth of credibility and respect for having the courage to say it straight the first time.

I wish I could say that the above situation was the only time I tried to cover the truth with a story. It wasn’t. But, I do my best now to remember this situation and others like it whenever I have the choice between telling the truth and not.

More often that not, I am now making the correct choice. I challenge you to do the same.

Bring your best today!

Love,
Noah

Leave a Reply

