Daily Shory-hOPT: Learning From Losing

“Sometimes by losing a battle you find a new way to win the war.” – Donald Trump

My first year as a head varsity baseball coach, I won 9 games. I lost WAY more than that. Nearly every day was frustrating. We had decent enough athletes, but we just couldn’t get over the hump. Day in and nearly every day out, the result was the same. The problem was that I also approached every day the same way. I’d plug away with the usual routines. I’d plug in the same lineups every day. I never tried to learn anything from each failure. Instead, I kept plowing forward, head down, using the same tactics and expecting a different result.

To be fair, it was my first head coaching job. I severely lacked experience, and I now have the advantage of hindsight. However, it would have been a more beneficial experience for all had I taken the time to step back, evaluate what was working and what wasn’t, and tried some new methods.

You’ve heard the old saying that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. This is truly exemplified when we fail and don’t use that failure as a learning tool. When we lose and don’t find the lesson in it, we have lost twice.

There is value in nearly everything, and that includes falling short. Not reaching our goals or potential in one instance should give us the ability to rise to the challenge the very next time.

It is incumbent upon us to recognize it, learn from it, and be better because of it.

Have an awesome Thursday,
-A.

20140213-155719.jpg

Leave a Reply

