Daily Short-hOPT: Corey Vaughan

“An invincible determination can accomplish almost anything and in this lies the great distinction between great men and little men.” – Thomas Fuller

On a few occasions, I have highlighted people close to me for different reasons. I find that sharing personal stories can sometimes better define the things I’m trying to convey than me simply coming up with stuff off the top of my head. I’ve spoken about my Papaw, who is someone I have looked up to for a long time. I’ve spoken about Steve Abbott, my in-law that is currently punching cancer right in its stupid face. I’ve discussed the legacy of Mr. JT Mulligan, former Lloyd baseball coach and AD. In an effort to highlight what hard work and determination can become, this post is about my little brother. 

When I was 11 years old, my little brother, Corey, was born. As a few years went by, it was plainly obvious that this kid was a different breed. I don’t at all mean that negatively. He displayed characteristics that weren’t necessarily common among my two sisters and I, all his senior. Without question, he was the most persistent human being I had ever encountered. If you told him you were going to do something, you had better plan on doing it because he would not forget, and he sure as hell wouldn’t let you. He had a quiet confidence about him. He was naturally good at things, but he also worked his butt off to be good at them. He excelled in school, but he worked really hard to maintain good grades. He was athletically gifted, but he worked hard at staying that way. 

The older he got, the more obvious it became that this dude was supremely driven. On the strength of outstanding grades and athletic ability, he earned a spot on the Brescia University baseball team. He excelled academically in college while playing ball. He did something I couldn’t/wouldn’t do when I was his age: he went three hours away to school, and he is poised to finish up this year.

Generally speaking, it is the older brother that shows the younger brother the ropes. In this case, though, I have learned so much from my little brother. He has exemplified perseverance. He has exhibited what drive, motivation and determination truly look like. Through the work has put in, he is able to see the fruits of his labor on the other side. Lastly, and most importantly to me, he’s just a good person. He cares genuinely about people. He’s loyal to his family and friends. 

On more than one occasion, I have mentioned to my wife that I see that a lot of my brother in my son, Judson. He exhibits that same stubborn determination. He has a clear idea of what he wants, and there’s not much that stands in his way of getting it. He is sensitive and caring. As it has served my brother well, I hope it will provide the same outcome for my son. 

Corey is an example of what happens when a perfect storm of positive attributes collide. Positivity, motivation, optimism, determination and work ethic are certainly more than buzz words. They’re essential traits for success.
I could not be more proud to call Corey Vaughan my brother. 

Have an awesome Friday,
-A. 

20140207-212720.jpg

Leave a Reply

