Daily Short-hOPT: Your Person

“One of the greatest diseases is to be nobody to anybody.” – Mother Teresa

If you’re a Grey’s Anatomy fan, you know what it means for somebody to be your “person”. (Yeah, I’ve seen pretty much every episode. It’s whatever.) If you’re not a fan of the show, the gist of having a person is having someone that you can turn to when you need advice, compassion, or a swift kick in the butt. Your person acts as your shoulder to cry on as well as someone that can tell you things you may not want to hear without fear of reprisal. We need a person. And your person also needs a person. Okay, I’m done saying person so much. 

(Okay, maybe one more time…at least.) I have a handful of persons (people?). All of them are there for me in whatever capacity the situation requires. I sincerely hope they see me as their person. To me, that’s even more important than having them there for me. This isn’t to downplay their role in my life. I just feel it’s paramount that I am available for my peeps when they need me. 

As Mother Teresa advises, being nobody to anybody is a lonely enterprise. In the chase to look out for número uno, it becomes easy to lose sight of other’s needs. We get caught up in me, me, me, which makes selfishness come so easily. 

Here’s your challenge: Identify your people. Take positive steps to reciprocate the things they have done for you. Take the time to let them know what they mean to your existence. Most importantly, make sure you’re their person when they desperately need a person. 

As we age, that scope of people narrows, but that just makes them even more special. 

Have an awesome Thursday,
-A. 

(P.S. If you’re counting along at home, I used “person” 11 times (12) with a couple variations of the word throughout. I hope you enjoyed. Goodnight now!)

20140205-202134.jpg

(I wrote a good portion of this post with a kid on my head.)

Leave a Reply

