Daily Short-hOPT: Get Out Of Your Way

“The only thing standing between you and your goal is the bull**** story you keep telling yourself as to why you can’t achieve it.” – Jordan Belfort

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an illustrator of children’s books, for some reason. I also wanted to play for the Reds. As I got older, that vision changed multiple times. At one point in 9th or 10th grade I decided I wanted to hitchhike to California, where I would bum change to live and just surf, man. I don’t even know how to surf and I’d be scared to death to hitch a ride from a stranger. In my late teens I wanted to be in a band. I was actually in a band or two, but that fizzled out pretty quickly. As I got into college, I finally decided that I wanted to be a teacher. Several years later, I still do, but the difference between now and then is that I am now actually taking the steps to do it. I’ve been in and out of school since I was 18. I’ve majored in Secondary Education, Middle Grades Education, Journalism, Sports Management, Business Administration and Organizational Leadership. To date, I’ve completed exactly zero of those programs. Instead, I allowed things to get in my way, and I made excuses along the way for why I couldn’t complete these things. The fact is, the only thing keeping me from attaining that goal was me. I was absolutely in my own way. 

The difference between those that daydream and those that act is the ability to get out of one’s own way. We are often our own worst enemy when it comes to going after what we want. We create excuses and come up with reasons why we can’t work toward our goals. We get lazy. We tell ourselves that maybe we didn’t really need it, or that we didn’t want it as bad as we thought. The truth is that we’re either not willing to make the sacrifices necessary to reach goals or we allow our fears of the unknown to derail the process. 

About two years ago, with the encouragement of my wife, I went back to school to finish what I started roughly 16 years ago. This December, I will complete this goal and grab that piece of paper at the end. I am married, have a two year old, a full-time job, 4 college classes, a varsity baseball team, and a daily blog. I’m not offering this info to toot my own horn. I’m simply expressing the fact that had I not made excuses for myself, this process would be so much easier. But, I will get there. 

Stop telling yourself you can’t do what you want. Push aside the false reasons and poor rationalizations. Quit making excuses.

Get out of your own way and go get it. 

Have an awesome Friday,
-A. 

20140131-185437.jpg

Leave a Reply

