The Scoop: Be Present

“Wherever you are, be all there.” – Jim Elliot

Let me say this first before I go into anything else. I enjoy my smartphone. (Well, everything except the phone part.) I love to text, keep up with sports scores, browse Twitter and Facebook far more than I should, and play games (yes, I am Candy Crusher presently stuck on Level 453). It is also nice to have the luxury of writing these blog posts from my phone while I am on the go.

However, I may be one of the biggest culprits of letting my phone usage get in the way of personal interaction. Take a look the next time you are out at a restaurant. You will see groups of people sitting together and all of them will be on their phones. You will see a couple, and one or both will be on theirs. But, please do not look toward mine so you do not catch me doing the exact same thing.

I recognize this as something I struggle with. People have even politely called me out on it. I am working on it. I have started keeping my phone in my pocket instead of setting it on the table so I am less tempted. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. But, it is a process and I am getting better.

Facebook and Twitter are not going anywhere. I can blog later. But, those moments we have for real personal interaction are important. We have a chance to engage in meaningful conversation and actually learn something. Be present, fully present.

The same is true when we make a commitment. Currently, I am helping Aaron work a baseball camp on Sundays. It is a long day. Five hours of dealing with over 100 kids from ages 6-15. I love baseball, yet it would still be easy to gripe, complain, and wish the hours away. Instead, because we choose to love every second of that five hours, it flies by, and we have a blast while doing it.

My challenge to you today is this: Whenever you are doing something and whatever you are doing, be present. Embrace your position and give your best effort. Enjoy what you are doing and do it without complaints. Find the joy of being in the moment. Do not worry about what is ahead of you or what has happened in the past. Be fully engaged, be committed, and be present.

I plan to challenge myself to do the same. All of the things on our phones can wait, no matter how much we love to check them or how important it may seem to us.

The present moment is all we have. That is where our living occurs. Being somewhere else forces us to miss out on living. Do not get caught up in future and stop worrying about the past.

Be here. Right now. Take a few seconds to gather your thoughts and get yourself right to this moment. What are you doing? Who are you with? Engage it, embrace it, live it. This moment is all we are promised. Nothing more, nothing less. This moment is all we need. Every day, one interaction, one commitment, one moment at a time, be present.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

