The Scoop: Add Value

“Absorb what is useful. Discard what is not. Add what is uniquely your own.” – Bruce Lee

I have had the privilege of playing for, coaching with, and meeting many great coaches during my lifetime. They have all taught me great lessons (both good and bad) about the kind of coach I should and should not be.

One solid piece of advice that I got from a coach early in my career suggested that I learn at least one thing (oftentimes, it was more than one) from every coach, then find a way to make it my own.

Through conversations, books, clinics, speeches, videos, observations, and questions, my coaching philosophies and styles are the culmination of a little piece of just about everyone that I have interacted with. The most important part is that this process is on-going. My coaching style and philosophy continues to evolve with each new coach I meet, each new conversation I have, and each new clinic I attend.

One other important piece of advice I learned (probably not as early as I should have) was that each person in our life adds value to or removes value from our life.

Not every piece of advice we receive is helpful. We do not have to feel obligated to follow it. We are free to make our own interpretations and evaluations of how that advice may help us. If we do not like it or do not find it beneficial, we should discard it.

Other times, advice is sound, but does not necessarily fit precisely into our circumstances. We should take that suggestion and tailor it to our needs. We should feel empowered to make it our own.

What I have found is that I am now constantly seeking to learn things from other people. Continual learning is a valuable tool for anyone. I may learn ways not to behave, work, teach, or coach from some people, while others proved me with a brilliant example that I want to use in accordance with my vision.

The rewarding outcome is the ability to take all you have learned and weave it into an individual fabric that is uniquely your own.

The other thing to remember is that not only are you learning from people but people are learning from you. Do not take this responsibility lightly. This is your chance to impact the world positively.

We are all leaders. Every day, every moment, directly or indirectly, we are making choices that positively or negatively affect those around us. People are choosing (or not choosing) to take what we have to offer and find a way to utilize it.

Strive to spread good in the world with everything you do. People are watching you, looking up to you, and waiting to see what you do…

Be one who adds value to someone else’s experiences.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

