Daily Short-hOPT: Your Time

“On a long enough time line, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.” – Chuck Palahniuk (Fight Club)

I can remember being told on several occasions that the older you get the faster time goes. It’s true. It’s absolutely true. My mom and dad, with much more time in and experience earned than I, have lamented this very fact on multiple occasions. Now getting into my mid-thirties, I’ve started reflecting on things a bit more than I did in my twenties. Maybe I’m just morbid, but every so often this thought creeps into my brain: “You’re going to die some day.” Weird, right? I agree. It freaks me out. No one likes being faced with their own mortality. While we don’t like to think these thoughts, and as time pushes by more quickly with each passing day, we have to eventually come to terms with the fact that we were all born with an expiration date.

The French poet Anatole France said, “Time deals gently only with those who take it gently.” In less elegant words, we have options; choose to use the time you have fully, or fight against certain destiny. Positivity or negativity. Happiness or despair. What will you do with your time?

Whether you live to be 25 or 95, you have a finite number of days on this earth. How will you spend them? How many things are you putting off until later? How many changeable things do you complain about, yet take no action to correct? Are you overweight and don’t want to be anymore? Change it. Are you “stuck” in a dead-end job with no prospects for the future? Change it. Are you tired of feeling angry and helpless all the time? Change it. Let’s be honest here: you could absolutely die today. Your existence could, without question, end this very afternoon. I’m not trying to be dramatic. God forbid, but it’s the truth. What legacy would you leave behind? What mark will you leave? What will you have done with your time?

Yes, the older I get I feel that time passes more quickly. I feel it. Every time Christmas rolls around and I say that it doesn’t even feel like Christmas, I know it’s happening. However, I also know that I have a choice in the matter. I can choose to appreciate the days that I’ve been given. I can choose to live a life of positivity. I can choose to be happy and grateful for all that I have. I know that I will fall short sometimes, but I’ve made my choice. What’s yours?

What will you choose to do with your time?

Have an awesome Tuesday,

-A.

20140114-135054.jpg

Leave a Reply

