The Scoop: Never Say Never

“Never say that you can’t do something or that something seems impossible, or that something can’t be done, no matter how discouraging or harrowing it may be; human beings are limited only by what we allow ourselves to be limited by: our own minds. We are really each the masters of our own reality; when we become self-aware to this: absolutely anything is possible.” – Mike Horton

I have spent some time over the last several months listening, observing, and reading various conversations, interactions, texts, and tweets/statuses. I have even taken time to really hear the words that I am speaking.

While I have heard some really great conversations and words, I have noticed that there are a lot of people who love to use several of the following (this list is not exhaustive):

I can’t do that.
I’ll never be able to do that.
I give up.
That’s impossible.
We will never win.

The TL training I attended over a year ago and have mentioned before refers to these words as self-limiting.

Now, I will be the first to admit that when I get frustrated, I have allowed myself to slip into these thoughts. I have even spoken these words. When I hear myself using those words, I quickly try to retract them or use more positive and encouraging language.

Never is such a long time. To truly believe something is never possible is really selling yourself or something else short. The problem lies in the fact that we now expect these things to happen overnight. We become result oriented instead of focusing on the process and realizing that change does not occur overnight.

We cannot give up or lose hope no matter how dire things might seem. We must believe that we and others are capable of anything we set our mind to. We must strive to keep our mind open to endless possibilities.

When we start using self-limiting language, we close our mind to what is available to us. We even begin to see more obstacles being placed in front of us which only validate our self-limiting words. It becomes a vicious cycle that is hard to break unless we are intentional and self-aware about the words we speak about ourselves and others.

My challenge to you today is this: Speak greatness into yourself and others. Eliminate self-limiting statements. Do not deny yourself of your dreams by closing off your mind with your words.

You can be anything you want to be. Absolutely anything is possible. You just have to believe it is, then take the actions to help make it a reality.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

