Daily Short-hOPT: Yoda

“Try not. Do…or do not. There is no try.” – Yoda

(Before I started writing, I conferred with my friend Kate to ensure accuracy of this quote. She reminded me that most people forget that Yoda says “Try not” in this quote, and, also, Yoda isn’t carrying a walking stick. It’s a gimmer stick, and you can look that up. When I commented on Yoda being angry, she advised that Yoda was frustrated, not angry, and that anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering. So, there you have it. Star Wars 101. Boom.)

A really cool thing happened the other day. I received a text from my dad complimenting me for my work on this blog. The simple fact that he took the time to send me such an awesome message was enough in itself, but he finished it off with the following (paraphrased): “There are those that talk about making a difference and those that actually do.”

Far be it from me to take Yoda out of context. Noah and I have spoken at length about trying and simply getting started. We believe in this. We believe the first step is the best step because it means you’re starting to make a difference in whatever endeavor you’ve chosen. So, with all props to Yoda, try is a good thing. (I’m sure at this point, if Kate is reading, she’ll school me on how I completely missed the boat on this one.)

For the most part, though, Yoda hits the nail squarely on the head. It’s not enough to say what we’re going to do. It’s not enough to proclaim grandiose plans and provide zero follow-through. It’s not enough to retweet cool ideas and share statuses. If you desire to effect real change, it’s time to get off your booty and put your money where your mouth is.

It’s time to do. Set some goals. Put them down on paper. Figure out ways to reach those goals. Whatever you do, and however you choose to go about it, just do it. No better time than now. That’s your motivational speech for the day.

Thank you Kate and Yoda.

Have an awesome Friday,

-A.

20140103-154511.jpg

Leave a Reply

