Daily Short-hOPT: So Far Away/One Foot In Front of the Other

“It is hardly possible to build anything if frustration, bitterness and a mood of helplessness prevail.” – Lech Walesa

Noah sent me three videos this morning, and I watched all three (I’ve provided links at the bottom. Take the time to view. Thank you, Noah, for sharing.) Now, being that it’s Monday morning and I slept like absolute dog crap last night, my initial reaction is this: I am so far away from where I need and want to be. In my current frame of mind, the videos really just annoyed me to no end. It’s not the videos. The videos are amazing. It’s me. It’s my inability to see through the fog in my own mind to get to the positivity on the other side.

I’m tired. I’m cranky. I don’t feel like being here. This is my daily battle. I am cynical by nature. I am negative by nature. I watch these videos and read these books and I want to mock the author, poke holes in the theories and throw in the towel. I’ve committed to writing a daily blog about positivity and optimism, and there are days where my mindset is anything but.

I am so busy. I have a million things on my to-do list. I can’t fathom a single way in which I can accomplish all and be as prepared as I need to be. How can I balance being effective at work, being a good husband and father, keeping up my end of shorthoptimism, all while knowing that baseball season is right around the corner? These are the thoughts that consume me. These are the thoughts that I know hold me back. I’m sure a lot of us have these same types of thoughts. I’m hardly unique in that aspect.

About a half hour ago, as I was sitting here absolutely drowning in my own negativity, I decided to take a walk to refill my water bottle. I couldn’t nail down and focus on a single thought, but I noticed how I was walking. I was plodding along, my footsteps were heavy, and I could feel myself actually laboring to put one foot in front of the other. Then it hit me; even though I could literally feel the weight of my mood, even though I am feeling absolutely exasperated about my abilities and environment, even though I feel like I am so far away, and, even though my footsteps were heavy and my pace was labored, I was still putting one foot in front of the other. I was still moving forward.

“Rome wasn’t built in a day” is a saying we’ve all heard a bazillion times, but the purpose of the saying rings true: embrace patience, do everything within your abilities to progress positively, do right by others and yourself, set goals and work to achieve them, be the best possible you every day. This mindset is essential, because, if you’re like me and you feel so far away from where and what you want to be, you have to be able to focus on that next step. Put the next foot forward and keep moving.

Much like Frost’s road less traveled, that will make all the difference.

Have an awesome Monday,

-A.

Videos:
A Night With Simon Sinek

Simon Sinek: If You Don’t Understand People, You Don’t Understand Business

TEDxSinCity – Dave Logan – Make a Genius Tribe

20131230-122425.jpg

Leave a Reply

