Daily Short-hOPT: Papaw

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” – William Arthur Ward

Aside from seeing Judson’s reaction to what Santa brought him, one of the best things about this Christmas was a conversation I got to have with my Papaw. We arrived at Ninny and Papaw’s house Christmas Eve having already made one stop on the 2013 Moore Christmas Tour. My aunt Trish sent me downstairs to retrieve Papaw for dinner, but Papaw and I ended up sitting and talking for about a half hour before we were summoned for dinner again. 

When I was around 10 or 11, my Ninny and Papaw moved away. If my memory serves, they went from Kentucky to Georgia to Louisiana, where they settled for better than a decade. During that span, I got to visit with them a couple times, which was fantastic. They lived in Kenner, LA, which is right outside New Orleans. My siblings and I grew up very close to our grandparents, and we missed them dearly when they moved. I always thought my Papaw was one of the coolest guys I knew. I have vivid memories of him when I was a kid, from pretending he was falling asleep while driving to milking cows on WinHerJim Farm in Dry Ridge. As an adult, I remember emailing back and forth with Papaw. Specifically, when I was in my late teens, I remember emailing Papaw and telling him I was thinking about dropping out of college to fully put my efforts into a band I was in. I can still remember his response. I’ll keep that to myself. It was good advice I should have followed. 

Since the inception of this blog, Papaw and I have exchanged emails about leadership on several occasions. When I get to work and see an email in my inbox from Papaw, it makes my day. 

What I’m driving at in this ode here is the importance of having someone to look up to that will give you honest and direct feedback. I have been lucky in my life to have several people like this: Papaw, my Dad, my Mom, Amber, my friend Tommy, Noah…these are people that genuinely care about my well-being and are willing to build me up when necessary and pull me back when I’ve overstepped my boundaries. These types of people are truly important because they don’t have an agenda in your improvement or failures. Their sole investment in you is the betterment and fulfillment of you. 

So, who’s your Papaw? Who’s your Marty, Carlita, Amber, Tommy or Noah? For those among us who strive for betterment, surrounding ourselves with people of this ilk is imperative. The sooner you identify these folks, the better off you’ll be.

Have an awesome Saturday,
-A. 

20131228-211726.jpg

Leave a Reply

