The Scoop: Pick Your Battles

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.” – Mark Twain

Let me get this out in the open: Everyone is entitled to an opinion. However, that does not mean you always need to share it.

My Papaw was a strong advocate of picking your battles. He often used to remind me of that quite often when we were on our Sunday shopping trips. We had a lot of opinions that we shared between us, but he cautioned me to use my words wisely when I spoke amongst a crowd.

Because of that advice, I have learned to have a multitude of opinions that I only share in private (private meaning my family and dear friends). Essentially, I trust my opinions with those that I know will truly respect them, listen to them, and can share in honest discussion with them.

These people are not those that always agree with me or tell me what I want to hear. They challenge me intellectually and provide me insight that I may have never before explored.

Today, I think social media and the rest of the society often gives us a platform to expose us as fools. I have read many conversations (and at times, participated in them) where uninformed opinions of people continue to spew baseless facts and stories about events. People share their opinions and anyone who disagrees, no matter how accurate, is labeled as “wrong” or even “stupid.”

We all have opinions. We are all free to share those opinions. It is important to remember those opinions come with consequences. When you upset the status quo, you are bound to create enemies, and while that may not always be a bad thing, here is a little advice for you…

Pick your battles. Know when to share your opinion, and most importantly, know when to keep your mouth shut. It may be the most powerful statement you ever make.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

