The Scoop: Appreciation

“Appreciation is a wonderful thing: it makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well.” – Voltaire

I started a new job today. It went well for a first day. It started with the obligatory paperwork that every new hire (or rehire, in my case) is required to fill out, and I followed that by obtaining my access to computers, emails, etc.

After a long morning introduction, I finally made my way to my department, and was shown my office. Because my office door was locked and no one seemed to be able to locate a key, I had extra time to check out the sign of appreciation that had been made for me, and hung on my door.

It contained well wishes, welcomes, congratulations, etc. I quickly noticed that the messages existed across departments and not solely from my group of awesome new co-workers. It really started my day and week off on the right foot. (Perhaps, if I was a little more awake, I could tell you about the rest of my great day.)

While it is good to feel appreciated (and I certainly felt that way today), the messages reminded me of how important and how valuable it can be to simply do something nice for someone else to show them that you value them. Aaron spoke about these simple gestures earlier, but they really carry such a great weight, and cost nothing.

I have a feeling that over my next few weeks of getting acclimated to the new position that I will have plenty of opportunities to show appreciation for the patience and willingness to help me get up to speed. I can only hope that I make the people helping me feel as appreciated as they made me feel today.

Working for a place and particularly a department that prides itself on developing positive relationships, I was able to feel first hand today like a little bit of that belonged to me because it was shared with me. I hope to be able to share that with others as well going forward.

My challenge for you today is this: When someone does something kind for you, offer a genuine and heartfelt thank you. If someone has done something for you recently, and you failed to show them the proper appreciation, it is not too late. Send them a note, call them up, shoot them an email, etc. Whatever it is, just say thank you, and mean it.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

