Daily Short-hOPT: Worrying Is For The Birds

“Worry is a down payment on a problem you may never have.” – Joyce Meyer

“Worry often gives a little thing a great shadow.” – Swedish proverb

I’m rocking two quotes today because both of these were offered up to me by my great friend and blog partner, Noah, via text message today. Both were pertinent and needed. I currently have a lot of irons in the fire, so to speak, and Mr. Welte, as he does, came through with some fantastic words of wisdom.

I’m a chronic worrier. I worry about inane details, irrelevant perceptions, lack of control in certain situations…the list is longer than I’d like it to be. Two of the great forces in my life, Noah and my lovely wife, Amber, aside from being insanely supportive, have the most amazing outlooks on stressing over minutiae. I’m trying to get to that mindset. This is a step in that direction.

Last night, we watched the season finale of Sons of Anarchy, and something struck me. Even though Jax generally tries to do the noble thing, his best laid plans are almost always derailed. The thing that struck me was this: his plans are almost always derailed by people other than himself. In a roundabout way, I realized that we cannot control people, and we cannot control the actions of people. We spend so much time worrying over what someone will think or do, and we have literally no control of how that will play out. As such, why put the time and effort into the wasted emotions of stress and worry? In Noah’s words, “In the long run, most of what everyone stresses over is inconsequential.”

The message is clear: control what you can control and put your emotions into that. If it is outside of your control, understand that spending precious time being miserable and stressed is ultimately counterproductive and unhealthy. It’s not worth your time.

I’ll leave you with this, from the Dalai Lama XIV:

“If a problem is fixable, if a situation is such that you can do something about it, then there is no need to worry. If it’s not fixable, then there is no help in worrying. There is no benefit in worrying whatsoever.”

Have an awesome Wednesday,

-A.

20131211-162918.jpg

Leave a Reply

