Daily Short-hOPT: I Don’t Want To!

“Do something every day that you don’t want to do; this is the golden rule for acquiring the habit of doing your duty without pain.” – Mark Twain

When I was in high school, I abhorred doing homework. Specifically, I hated doing anything math or science-related (This hasn’t really changed). So, I’d put it off. Sometimes I’d do it last; sometimes I wouldn’t do it at all. I never made myself just do it. Looking back on this, I realize that I should have attacked that stuff first, knocked it out, and moved on to the good stuff. What I didn’t know is that this would have an effect on my general work ethic down the road.

Lately, I’ve been trying to challenge myself to do things that I really don’t want to do. I’ve done okay with it, but still have a long way to go. A few from my list:

– Say hello to people and be personable before 10 in the morning.
– Homework.
– Listen to country music without wanting to claw my eyes out.

Small things, I know. But, as we’ve addressed before, the little things add up to big things. The lasting effect is the ability to go about your daily routine without placing negative emphasis on having to do the stuff you dread. It will no longer have that stigma. It will eventually become just part of what you do. As a coach, I know that the guys who do the tough stuff are the ones who generally succeed. These are the guys who carry equipment, work drills relentlessly, go all out in conditioning, and show up to Saturday morning practices without complaining.

So, on this lovely Monday afternoon, determine something that you don’t want to do, and just do it. Make yourself do it. Challenge yourself to push through these things every day. The end result will be well worth it.

For me, maybe that will mean I can make it through “Cruise” or “Red Solo Cup” without wanting to jump off something really high.

What’s on your list?

Have an awesome Monday,

-A.

20131209-145044.jpg

Leave a Reply

