The Scoop: Learning Is Cool!

“I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught.” ~Winston Churchill

I’m a nerd. 

I enjoy reading. My text messages are grammatically correct. I regularly look up words that I don’t know or understand. I cringe whenever I hear someone say “supposably”. But, I truly believe that it is of the utmost importance to try to learn something new every day. 

It doesn’t have to be molecular physics or Shakespeare. For example, last night, I learned that Jennifer Aniston is 44 years old. Pointless knowledge, right? (Uh, have you seen We’re The Miller’s yet?) Okay, so knowing the age of an actress is wholly silly and greatly irrelevant, but what you pick up daily can certainly fall somewhere in between physics and actresses.

I know a ton of people that hate to read. I get that. It’s not for everyone. I hated reading the classics in high school. I tried rereading them later in life, and I still didn’t care for them. That said, there are inherent benefits to trying to pick up something new as often as possible. 

Learn something new about something you already love or are interested in. Look up something that you’ve wondered about but never took the time to look into. Make the effort to educate yourself to advance your current position or role. It’s worth the time and effort. 

Here’s a fun fact for you: according to a report dated April 7, 2013, there were over 63 million blogs on WordPress.

Thanks for reading ours. 

Have an awesome Sunday,
-A. 

20131208-214820.jpg

Leave a Reply

