The Scoop: Where You Are

“This is the only moment you need to be worried about. There’s no yesterday. There’s no tomorrow. There’s just right now. You’re not late for anything. You aren’t going to miss anything. You’re exactly where you’re supposed to be. And you’re exactly who you’re supposed to be. You’re absolutely perfect. And whatever happens today is exactly what’s supposed to happen.” – Yul Perrkins a.k.a. Charles Bronson, from Hit & Run

(For the record, I don’t know who Yul Perrkins is, I have a vague idea who Charles Bronson is, and I’m not real sure what Hit & Run is. However, this quote is fantastic, so, there’s that.)

I was thinking about my friend Neil today, as we gathered to celebrate his marriage this evening. It got me thinking about the path he’s taken to get where he is now. I’ve known Neil since we were 10 or 11 years old, and I know his journey has never been easy. Out of respect, I won’t get into the details. Just know that he’s been through an awful lot, and he’s a better man because of it. I’m extremely proud to call him my friend. 

Thinking about that lead me to thinking about where I am today, and I realized that, though my own path has been less than smooth, I am precisely where I need and am supposed to be. Everything that has lead me to this point was supposed to happen, and I am, at this exact moment in time, standing exactly where I am supposed to be. 

We like to focus on where we wish we were or harp on the negative from our past. Get better today. Work on the now. Make progress. 

Congratulations, Rachael and Neil. Love you guys. 

Have an awesome Saturday,
-A. 

20131207-211837.jpg

One thought on “The Scoop: Where You Are

  1. Pingback: Daily Short-hOPT: Today Is A Good Day | short-hOPTIMISM

Leave a Reply

