The Scoop: Just Start…

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” – Theodore Roosevelt

Several months ago, I attended a seminar where I was able to hear a man by the name of Jon Acuff speak. I had never heard of him before, but was intrigued by his talk, and the video ad for his book made me laugh aside from appearing interesting. So, I decided to buy his book, Start.

When I read this quote by Roosevelt, it immediately reminded me of the inside cover of this book. Here is some of what it says:

No one aims for average.
No one sets out for status quo.
No one longs for ordinary.

But one day you wake up and ask yourself, How did I get here? You wonder if there’s a way to be more awesome, more often. A way to punch fear in the face, escape average, and do work that matters…

You just have to start.

Too often, we wait for the right moment, the golden opportunity, the perfect storm before we choose to go after what we want. In a way, I did it with this blog. I encouraged everyone else to be a go-getter, stay aggressive and chase their dreams. Yet, I would tell everyone else that I had these grand ideas of impacting others through positivity and optimism, but I was still gathering information and waiting on a few things to fall into place.

That changed for me the day a few months ago when someone said to me, “I wish you would quit talking about all of your ideas and just go do it.”

Fortunately for me, that great piece of advice coincided with this, I texted Aaron, and we went for it. We can began to walk the talk that we shared with each other every day. We decided that we were able to do it today, where we were, with what we have.

This opportunity is available for all of us in whatever we want to do. All we have to do is start…

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

P.S. Please do yourself a favor and check out the book, Start, by Jon Acuff that I mentioned above. While I have not completely gotten through it yet, the information is exceptional, and his writing will keep you entertained.

Leave a Reply

