Daily Short-hOPT: Grudges Are Lame

”Grudges are for those who insist that they are owed something; forgiveness, however, is for those who are substantial enough to move on.” – Criss Jami

I don’t know how many times in my life I’ve had moments where it struck me that I didn’t know what I thought I knew. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve seen myself become more set in my ways, less open to ideals and more likely to not let people in. I’m working on that. But, the result of this unfortunate evolution is that I often find myself making sweeping generalizations about people with little to no evidence that what I believe to be true is, in fact, true. Or, along those same lines, if I have long held beliefs about someone, good or bad, they ingrain themselves even further into my psyche. What is really great about this, though, is when I am proven to be completely wrong.

Ask yourself these questions:

1.) Have you ever held a grudge for so long that you can’t even remember why you’re holding it anymore?
2.) Have you ever disliked someone so much yet you know you have no legitimate reason to feel that way?
3.) Has your perception of someone that you don’t even know on a personal level caused you to think or say negative things about them?

As for me: guilty, guilty and guilty.

A more productive set of questions would be:

1.) Have you ever considered why you’re holding a grudge, realized that it was pointless, and taken action to let go of it?
2.) Have you taken the time to get to know and understand someone that you dislike for no legitimate reason?
3.) Have you taken the time to understand what it is in you that makes you feel unwarranted negativity toward someone else?

We get nowhere by holding on to negativity for no reason and we limit ourselves by shutting out people that could add to the fulfillment in our lives.

Identify your negativity. Confront it. Let it go.

Have an awesome Wednesday,

-A.

One thought on “Daily Short-hOPT: Grudges Are Lame

  1. Pingback: Don’t wait to live ♥ |

Leave a Reply

