Daily Short-hOPT: I Got Stuck on the Roof Today

“I’m not afraid to fall; it means I climbed too high. Either way, it shows at least I tried.” – Unknown

 
I got stuck on the roof today. 

Seriously. 

I climbed up to clean gutters and hang Christmas lights. I was fine going up, I was fine being up there…but, I couldn’t make myself get down. After about 20 minutes of trying to force myself back onto the ladder while fending off a panic attack, I sent Amber a text from the roof:

“Can you please come hold this ladder for me? I’m sorry. I can’t get down.”

So, what did I learn in my time stuck on the roof? In essence, I realized that it’s okay to be afraid, and that having people close to you can help you get through the tough stuff. (That’s right, my wife helped me off the roof. Manly, eh?) 

Secondly, I learned a little about what kind of guy I am. I’m a husband, father, coach, mentor, somewhat of a writer, and a decent human being. I’m not good with fixing cars, stuff around the house, or, really, anything that requires being handy. I learned that I’m okay with that. I do what I do well, and I do my best with the rest. I don’t have to be good at everything. It’s good enough to be good enough. 

Lastly, I learned the importance of having an exit strategy. I climbed up on the roof like a champ, but had no clue how to get back down. We often make goals with no real strategy for how to get there or what to do when we get there. Stress the process. Think it through. Have a plan. 

Don’t get stuck. 

Have an awesome Sunday,
-A. 

Leave a Reply

