Daily Short-hOPT: Share the Love

“The greatest weakness of most humans is their hesitancy to tell others how much they love them while they’re still alive.” – Orlando A. Battista

I never assume love. If I did, I would be using this space to talk about what would be one of my biggest regrets in life.

The summer before my senior year, a friend of mine and I were locked in an epic fight. To this day, I have no idea what we were upset about. I probably shot my mouth off, and she, never being one not to give her opinion, obviously told me how upset she was. Sometime around the end of June, she had a pool party at her house. She called me that day and begrudgingly asked me if I’d like to come out. I decided to go. We barely talked throughout, and as I was preparing to leave, I stopped myself and turned around. I told her that the argument was dumb; I apologized; and I told her that I loved her. She forgave me and told me she loved me as well. Then I went home.

I never spoke to her again. She passed away a short time later.

Why is telling someone you love them so difficult?

Does it make us vulnerable? Does it make us appear soft? Does it make us seem like less of a man?

Athletes, especially male, seem to have been ingrained with the idea that sharing feelings somehow makes you weak. When we compete and play sports, we are supposed to be tough. Somehow, according to many, sharing emotions goes against all of that.

Saying you love someone and sharing your feelings is being tough. We should encourage these emotions from our players, our sons, our daughters, and others. Before we are able to do that, we have to be willing to share our own emotions and feelings with them.

If you love someone, don’t be afraid to tell them. Tell them when you leave, tell them when you see them again. Show them with how you act. Show them with your words. If you want someone to love you in return, just keep loving them without reservation, without condition, without agenda.

Love builds trust. It doesn’t make you weak. Love heals. It doesn’t make you soft. Love is tough. Love is strength.

Don’t hesitate to wear your emotions on your sleeve. Don’t hesitate to them you care. Don’t hesitate to love someone.

Start today because you never know when it’ll be too late.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

