The Scoop: Where You Are

“God may just want to see what you can do where you are, before He trusts you to go where you want to be.” – Joe, from Lead…for God’s Sake! by Todd Gongwer

I am an instant gratification kind of guy. Always have been, likely always will be. Not sure if it’s just my general nature, genetics or a symptom of my generation. 

I want things now. 

When I first read Todd Gongwer’s book, ‘Lead…for God’s Sake!’, this quote jumped off the page at me. It resonated so deeply because of my natural inclination to want something more quickly than I’ve earned it. Since reading that quote, I have kept it in the back of my mind each time I get frustrated with where I am as opposed to where I want to be. 

I don’t think I’m alone in my thirst for instant gratification. I think a large portion of us need to be reminded of the value of hard work and perseverance from time to time. 

I try to remember this quote when I get frustrated or stuck in a rut, like Noah discussed earlier. In those times, I ask myself, “am I doing everything I can at this point in time and at this particular station in life to warrant the opportunity to get where I want to be?” If the answer is no (and let’s be honest, it often is), I know it’s time to work harder and earn what I want. 

Plan for the long term. Earn it now. 

Have an awesome Saturday, 
-A. 

Leave a Reply

