The Scoop: Be a Friend

We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give. – Winston Churchill

Last month, I learned a valuable lesson in friendship. It’s not about me.

Until then, I had become rather disgruntled with a friend because every time I had something serious to talk about the conversation went stale, and every time we chatted, he inevitably turned the conversation turned to something about him.

I decided it would be best to just ignore it and ignore him. Obviously, if I do not have to talk to him, I thought, I can protect my hurt feelings.

So one night a few weeks ago, for the first time in a while, a couple of comments led to a conversation. The conversation turned toward him as it inevitably does, but he had something he’d been holding onto that has been going on in his life that he needed to get off his chest. He needed support. He needed a friend.

So I decided to listen, and as I did, I realized that I had not been giving to the relationship so I was getting out of it exactly what I was putting into it.

Then, I thought about how much better he must have felt to have someone to talk to and listen, and how much sooner he could have been able to express these feelings had I spent more time giving instead of being upset or having my feelings hurt.

Friendship is not about us. If each person has the others best interest in mind all the time, then we do not need to think about ourselves ever. We are simply free to give.

Don’t make it about you. Be someone else’s friend today. Odds are you will get as much out of it as your friend will.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

