Daily Short-hOPT: On Our Terms

“No one can hurt you without your consent.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Last week, a friend of mine said something to me that was not kind and did not make me feel especially great. I bit my tongue instead of replying to the text because the outcome would not have been especially pleasant had I acted on impulse. But, I let the comment stew inside of me for a while, and even lamented to a couple of others that his words made me upset and hurt my feelings.

But, did they really?

The words were not nice nor pleasant to hear, but I am the person who made a conscious choice to let them affect me. I chose to be upset and I chose to let my feelings be hurt. It does not mean that people should be able to say and do what they want without accountability for their behavior, but we should not let their behavior dictate ours as I did.

People say and do hurtful things all of the time. Does that make it right? No. But, guess what? There is not a thing that we can do to control the behavior of others. However, we can be in control of our response to it. We can be in control of our thoughts and feelings, which directly influences our actions.

It is Monday. And my social media pages are lined up with tweets and status updates discussing all the ways that Monday has already wronged them, only thirteen or so hours in.

“Mondays make me…”
“Going back to work makes me want to…”
“Is it the weekend again because today feels…”
“I give up on today…”
“He/she makes me…”

NEWSFLASH: The world is not out to get you. So stop taking things personally.

Monday does not say, “I am going to make your life miserable today.” As much as we may not want to hear this, WE let it happen. We continue to welcome it by continuing to have more negative thoughts and feelings. People do not drag us down, we choose to respond negatively to how people treat us. And the more we allow it to happen, the more it will continue to happen.

Your Monday got off to a rocky start. So what? It happens. Refuse to let a bad morning, a bad meeting, a bad conversation, etc. scar you from seeing all of the great things today has to offer.

Take control of the wheel. When you find yourself feeling down, do something that will cheer you up and make you smile. (Might I recommend this?) Live life on your terms, and maintain control. Choose to be happy; you’ll be glad you did.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

One thought on “Daily Short-hOPT: On Our Terms

  1. Pingback: The Scoop: What’s Your Thing? | short-hOPTIMISM

Leave a Reply

