The Scoop: Get Up

“Fall seven times, stand up eight.” – Japanese proverb

When we really take a moment to think about it, our entire lives have been a lesson in resiliency. From learning how to talk, how to walk, how to ride a bike, we have learned how to do things by falling down and failing but getting up and learning. The world sets us up to be resilient.

Think about the times where something gets hard in our lives and we pout, quit, give up, stop trying, make an excuse, hide, complain, whine, blame, etc.

Now, think about all of the things that we could not possibly fathom doing when we first started, but now are able to. Think about things that we did not do right the first time, but stuck with it and figured it out. Think about how you have inspired someone to tough it out and get through a difficult moment. Think about how someone has motivated you to do the same.

Which way would you prefer?

When I first started playing basketball in the first or second grade as a child, I did not have much success. I could not dribble, and I had the ball taken from me a lot. However, when I wanted to pout and complain about it, my parents would walk me to the front door, point toward the sidewalk lining the street in front of our home, and tell me “there’s the street” encouraging me to go practice and get better. So, I did, and in doing so, I even began to hold my own on the basketball court.

The next time life knocks you down, stand up. There’s the street. Keep after it like you have been doing since day one.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

