Daily Short-hOPT: Why First!

“If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up people together to collect wood and don’t assign them tasks and work, but rather teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea.” – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

When I read this quote, I instantly thought of an e-mail that I recently received from my friend, Mark.  The e-mail contained a link to a video, which was an approximately twenty minute talk from Simon Sinek entitled “How Great Leaders Inspire Action.”  I encourage you to click that link and listen to the talk, especially the first five minutes or so.

The brief summary of that video is that great leaders inspire action in others because above all else they think first about why they do what they do.  In essence, people do not buy what you do; they buy why you do it.

Aaron, in an earlier post, discussed true purpose.  This is the WHY.  Why do you do what you do?  This should not be about money, status, or winning.  This is your purpose, your cause, your belief.  What gets you out of bed in the morning?

For many coaches, the misguided purpose is that above everything else they HAVE to win.  It is like a NEED that they just cannot escape.  The more they do it, the more they want it; the less they do it, the more they need it.  Everything becomes about what they must do to get the next win.  We have all seen the t-shirts and banners from winning is everything to whatever it takes to win.

I know this because it used to be my purpose.  Seven or eight years ago if you asked me why I coached, I would have told you that I wanted to build a winner.  I wanted to teach kids how to win.  Looking back on it, while we won some games, we accomplished some things as a team, and I accomplished some things as a coach, I realize that I was chasing results. 

Today, if you ask me why I coach, I can tell you that I do it to develop positive relationships and join with others in a common pursuit to strive toward being the best version of ourselves each and every day.  I believe that every day for our players should be about being better than we were the day before on the baseball field, in the classroom, and in life.  I also believe and want this for myself.  That is what gets me out of bed in the morning, and that is what drives me forward.  Winning is not mentioned, though don’t get me wrong, I do still love to win.   The interesting thing that I have noticed is positive results become the byproduct of being our best on a daily basis.  I just don’t need to talk about them.

That is the reason that we write these little bits of inspiration every day.  We wholeheartedly believe in what we say—that it is our vision to help others in the common pursuit of being the best version of themselves.  That is at the forefront of our mind whenever we type a post and whenever we share a story with you.  This is us longing for the immensity of the sea. 

So, we thank you for reading.  We have heard countless stories from people who have been impacted by our words, and that really does mean so much to Aaron and me.  We hope that we have been able to teach you a little about having some passion for living a positive life and having an optimistic outlook. 

We are constant works in progress, but that is the incredible part of this journey.  That we are better today than we were yesterday, but day by day, we will continue to live out our passion for what we do to be better yet tomorrow.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

