The Scoop: Aspire to Inspire

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams

If you had asked me 10 years ago why I wanted to coach, the answer would have revolved around winning, prestige and building a program into a proven, perennial winner. If you asked me that question today, it would differ greatly. Don’t get me wrong; I am incredibly competitive and I thoroughly enjoy winning (and despise losing). But what I have learned in the last 10 years is that the true purpose of what I do is not measured in wins and losses.

In my position I am charged with a much higher purpose. It is incumbent upon me to teach the young men I coach more important principles than simply how to play the game. I firmly believe that this line of thinking is absent from a lot of coaching today…which leads me to Adams’ quote above.

If you consider yourself a leader, you should aspire to inspire. Some of my greatest victories have not come on a baseball field. I consider it a victory when one of my guys finally masters something I know he’s been working hard to achieve. I consider it a victory when I hear from a player I haven’t seen in years and he tells me how well he’s doing. I consider it a victory when, at the end of the season, I have outgoing seniors tell me how much the experience meant to them.

Leadership is bigger than the wins and losses. Developing and maintaining positive relationships, inspiring others to do great things and achieving the goals of the collective are infinitely more important than focusing solely on W’s and L’s.

Inspire and be inspired to be great.

Have an awesome Sunday,
-A.

Leave a Reply

