Daily Short-hOPT: Combat Carl

“Combat Carl never gives up. Combat Carl finds a way!”
– Combat Carl in Toy Story of Terror

Admittedly, the quote is rather cheesy…I know. However, 95% of my TV watching these days is Toy Story, Yo Gabba Gabba, Bubble Guppies and Paw Patrol. It’s one of the joys of having a 2 year old.

That said, the quote is actually pretty poignant in its simplicity. How often do we just give up when something becomes too difficult? How much easier is it to just quit instead of taking the time and effort to do something the right way? As I related to my ball players during infield drills a while back, “Doing things the right way hurts so much less than getting hit in the face with a baseball.”

The point is, nothing worth having will come easy, and the value of having something earned through hard work is infinite. Take the time. Do the work. Keep your attitude positive. Persevere.

Lastly, in the interest of full disclosure, it should be noted that I do not believe I have all the answers and that I completely live out the words that I’m putting out there. I’m trying, but I realize that I am a work in progress. I am challenging myself daily to be better. Now, it’s your turn!

Have an awesome Saturday!
-A.

Leave a Reply

