The Scoop: Just Like Jack

“I don’t measure a man’s success by how high he climbs, but how high he bounces when he hits bottom.” – General George S. Patton

When I was a child, I played a video game for the Nintendo called “Mighty Bomb Jack.”  To beat this game (which I’m still not sure I ever did), I had to guide Jack through a series of levels eluding various obstacles and enemies all while listening to some interesting theme music.  Essentially, Jack would have to climb to the top of the mountain (translation: level) and exit through a door to the next room, eventually saving the royal Pamera family.  (Not entirely relevant, but now you know!)  Inevitably, Jack would miss a jump and fall all the way to the bottom sometimes.  As a 7 or 8 year old kid, it was really frustrating when Jack fell.  (Note:  Back then, it was always Jack that fell, not me causing him to mess up.  More on this at a later date.)

What I did not realize then that I do now is that Jack was teaching me an important lesson.  When you fall (translation: fail), don’t get mad and walk away (although I’m sure I did that more than my fair share of times).  Instead, I learned a valuable lesson about living life. 

We are going to fail.  There is no getting around that.  But here’s what’s most important:  How do we handle that failure?  What is our response?

My recommendation is simple:  Dust yourself off.  Figure out why you fell.  Seek to climb higher the next time.  Just like Jack.

Bring your best today!

Love, Noah

Leave a Reply

